Occupational Hygienists recognized in Australia Day Honours

We are pleased to announce that OHTA Board Member Dr Sharann Johnson was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) at the Australia Day Honours on Wednesday 26 2022. This award honors her significant service to community health as an occupational hygienist and to service groups.

AIOH President Kate Cole was also awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia and included in the Covid-19 Honour Roll. She was recognised for her contribution in support of Australia’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“My work as an occupational hygienist has always filled me with purpose and I am proud of the positive differences that I’ve been able to make, particularly recently during the Covid-19 pandemic”, says Kate. “Having that work recognised by being awarded a Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia is an absolute honour”.

This is a proud day for these two occupational hygienists, and the profession overall.