Sue Davies Award

For Best-Performing Student - Annual Award

Please note that the Sue Davies Award is under review by the Sue Davies Award Trust and the new Award and Conditions will be announced later in 2024. The Award Conditions detailed below are no longer available.

The Sue Davies Award was established to commemorate the invaluable contribution of the late Sue Davies to OHTA and is presented annually to the best-performing student undertaking the International Certificate in Occupational Hygiene (ICertOH). Early on, in the foundation years of OHTA, Sue was not only a driving force but was considered wise counsel to those establishing and implementing the international training scheme and global qualifications framework.

The overall objective of the Sue Davies Award is to provide the opportunity for the award recipient to progress their occupational hygiene career in their respective country for purposes of developing the greater occupational hygiene profession both locally and regionally.

The Sue Davies Award provides recipients with the opportunity to travel and attend a major international occupational hygiene conference, including those hosted by:

  • Australian Institute of Occupational Hygiene (AIOH), or
  • British Occupational Hygiene Society (BOHS) conference, or
  • American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce), or
  • International Occupational Hygiene Association (IOHA).

Full conference registration, accommodation and economy airfare (including travel insurance) will be paid up to the award value of US$5,000.

Such events facilitate collaboration and networking between individuals from around the world with an interest in occupational hygiene, in addition to providing a platform that enables delegates to expand and share knowledge in a social context.


To be eligible candidates must:

  • have successfully completed the International Certificate in Occupational Hygiene (ICertOH);
  • have a valid passport and meet the visa entry requirements of the host country
  • not have previously attended a conference hosted by AIOH, BOHS, AIHA or IOHA.

The judging panel will normally prioritise applicants who are permanently resident in a country considered a developing economy (with less than 25% US GDP per capita, and without an industrial hygiene association that is a member of IOHA). Note: this does not exclude other candidates holding the ICertOHTA from applying.

Application Process

Candidates must submit an application form including an essay between 800 and 1,000 words (in English) on why they should be considered for the award. At a minimum, the essay should include the following:

  • What benefits will the award bring to both the applicant and the advancement of the profession in their country?
  • What are the professional career plans of the applicant in regard to the occupational hygiene profession?
  • Which conference would the applicant like to attend and why?

The applicant is required to submit a budget for travel and conference attendance, detailing expenditure associated with such. No cash payments will be made directly to the successful applicant, and all expenses will be paid directly to each service provider.

The annual application period is 1 April to 30 September.

After 30 September, the Sue Davies Foundation Trustees shall serve as a judging panel, taking into consideration the results of the ICertOH module examinations, as well as the ICertOHTA oral exam and essay, to determine the award recipient.

The recipient will be notified in December.
For further information including full details of how to apply, please download these documents:

Award Guidelines  Priority Countries. Application Form
Successful Applicant Agreement

Sue Davies Prize Awardee 2019


Pinky Bhatt, the inaugural winner of the Sue Davies Prize, receiving the award at the BOHS conference in Brighton, UK on 3 April 2019.

Left to right: John Dobbie, Pinky Bhatt, Dr Brian Davies AM